Webby Awards at 15: Ready for Primetime


This mash-up of memorable (and mandatory) five-word acceptance speeches heralds the 15th annual Webby Awards call for entries.

The Webbys announced “it is expanding its mission to reflect the profound impact apps and the mobile Web are having on advertising, branding, and marketing.” There’s a new suite of categories for handheld and tablet devices and new Academy members include Yelp.com CEO Jeremy Stoppelman, UrbanDaddy CEO Lance Broumand, and Thrillist co-founder Ben Lerer.[more]

A special interactive advertising award honors work in the growing arena of augmented reality, showcasing campaigns that combine real-world environment and digital imagery and interfaces – QR codes, cameras, Tag, and more. Other interactive advertising categories include Branded Content, Viral Marketing, and Best Use of Social Media.

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 650-person judging academy that includes Martha Stewart, David Bowie, Vinton Cerf, and Arianna Huffington. Winners include many brands (such as HBO) scooping prizes for their online and digital brand extensions.

The Webbys are famous for their five-word acceptance speeches including: “Please don’t recount this vote,” former VP, Al Gore in 2005 for a Lifetime Achievement Award; “Me. Me. Me. Me. Me,” Stephen Colbert , 2008; “Thank God Conan got promoted,” Jimmy Fallon.

The deadline for entries is October 29th.